We use 'cookies' to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website and if you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. If you would like to know about 'what a cookie is' and how we look after your data privacy here, follow the 'Learn More' link to read our Privacy Notice.

Okay, I'm happy with that.Learn More
A A A

Personal Assistant (RA2) - External Vacancy

Job Ref:         (RKF/RA/5/2021)

Job Title: Personal Care Assistant/ sports assistant

Location:      Great Barr, Birmingham

Rate of Pay: £8.91

Hours: Banked Hours

Nature of the job role: PA

I am a 24 year old sportsman with physical disabilities, looking for a personal assistant to support me in all my care and sports competing needs. I have cerebral palsy quadriplegia and use a wheelchair to get around. I use an electric wheelchair for daily use and a manual chair for sports use. I have some function in my left arm and drive my electric wheelchair independently. I have verbal communication with a dark sense of humour and enjoy banter and bad jokes. I am quite literal with how i say things, please do not take offence

Required for role:

           Be eligible to work in the UK

           Clear DBS and on update system

           Be able to communicate fluently and clearly in spoken and written English.

           Be a non-smoker

           Hold a UK full driving license and is comfortable driving larger vehicles, including long distances and motorways

           Be able to work in a dog friendly home. I have a black Labrador assistance dog, that lives with me.

           Be able to administer medication and support with Bowel care

 

Essential criteria:

           Be comfortable with providing personal care to a young man as a lone worker

           Be able to maintain good punctuality

           Be able to work autonomously, as my personal assistants help me manage my time and my day

           Be physically fit, able to complete moving and handling, long walks and transfers with hoists; both standing and ceiling track

           Have a good working memory and good retention speed/ Additional skills/ qualities i would like my personal assistants to have:

           Good sense of humour

           Enjoy cooking

           Enthusiastic

           Empathetic

           Good communicator

           Have a lot of patience

Training and experience:

           All training for the role will be completed once started

           Experience with disability is ideal.