A A A

Personal Assistant (NG)

Job Title:  Female Personal Care Assistant

Job Ref:  MH / NG / 11 / 18

Reporting to: Employer

Location:
Parkfields, Wolverhampton WV4

Rate of Pay: £9.25 per hour

Nature of the job role: I am looking for two Female Personal Assistants with similar interests to my own to work with me both at home and out and about. If interviewed and offered a position you will be working with a young lady in her mid-20s who happens to have a disability but does not allow it to interfere with her love for life, her cat, baking, crafts, reading and travel. The majority of the role will consist of domestic duties and social activities. 

Please note a valid driver’s license is necessary for this position. 

Main Duties:

Personal duties: Limited to occasional support with showering. 

Domestic duties: Work with me to complete everyday tasks together; these will include keeping the house tidy, washing up, hoovering, laundry, dusting and cleaning bathrooms. There will be some light cooking, this will mainly consist of meal prep and baking/cooking for fun. 

Social Duties: Accompanying me while out and about; whether shopping, socialising, attending basic medical appointments such as the GP or joining me at the swimming pool. Support to make basic phone calls to arrange medical appointments or sort out prescriptions. 

Hours of work: 
Two separate positions: 

Position 1 (8 hours):
Tuesday - 1300-1700 hours 
Wednesday - 1300-1700 hours

Position 2 (6 hours): 
Thursday - 1400-1600 hours
Friday - 1300-1700 hours 

The ability to provide holiday cover for the other position is desirable. 

Qualifications:  
First Aid 
Health and Social Care 
Health and Safety 
Driving Licence 

Skills & Experience:

You must hold a valid driving license and own a car with your own insurance. Ideally your car will have space to transport my wheelchair which breaks down into smaller parts. There is the possibility of being added to the insurance of our motability car, this would be decided on a case by case basis. All mileage costs will be met. 

I carry an EpiPen for allergic reactions and have many different medications. I am also epileptic, and so the ideal candidate will have a knowledge of handling medications and first aid. From time to time I require an IM injection; currently my partner must travel home to administer this; experience with IM injections would be useful but is not necessary. Further training would be provided. 

I am Deaf and can use both British Sign Language (BSL) and speech. I lip read very well but knowledge of BSL, or an interest in learning, would be welcomed. It is by no means necessary. 

I enjoy crafting, baking and cooking. I am an avid reader and I love to travel. The ideal candidate will share some of the same interests as myself and will be happy to get involved in any crafting/baking activities. In the past I spent a lot of time in the pool and am very keen to get back in the water! I am looking for someone to join me in the pool and so you should ideally enjoy swimming.

We live with a friendly but very shy rescue cat so an animal lover is a must! 

The ideal candidate will be friendly, chatty and also understanding of my bad days! You should have an understanding of physical disability and have experience in this area. It is important that you possess the motivation to develop trust and an understanding of my needs. You should be hardworking, well organised, reliable and honest; you should be committed to providing the best care.

In return you will have the opportunity to practice your skills and keep up to date with professional development as any necessary training can be provided

Due to the nature of my disability I can have both good and bad days, the ability to be flexible surrounding working hours would be welcomed, however this is not essential. Flexibility would also be welcomed to allow me to attend a special event or medical appointment, advance notice would always be given. 
Some extra hours may be available at certain times of the year. 

An Enhanced DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) check will be required, funded by the Local Authority.

To apply for this role please send a CV or letter outlining your suitability for the role to PAvacancies@idealforall.co.uk – please quote job reference in your application.
Alternatively if you would like to discuss the role please call 0121 558 5555 option 1 and speak to a member of the Direct Payment Team.