We use 'cookies' to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website and if you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. If you would like to know about 'what a cookie is' and how we look after your data privacy here, follow the 'Learn More' link to read our Privacy Notice.

Okay, I'm happy with that.Learn More
A A A

Personal Assistant (KS)

Job Title: Personal Assistant (PA)

Job Ref: MH / KS / 01 / 19

Reporting to: Employer

Location: Penn Fields, Wolverhampton WV3

Rate of Pay:
£8.50 per hour

Nature of the job role: To assist an elderly gentleman of 89 years with vascular dementia four times a day. Lining in the Penn Fields area. 5 hours of sittings per week are also required & this is flexible.  He lives with his family. 

Main Duties:

Personal duties: 
Morning (1 hour call) - Washing/Bathing, Wet-shaving, Dressing and assisting with the toilet. Breakfast will be prepared for him, but may need to be heated and he may need assistance with eating or need to be fed. His bedroom is upstairs so he will require assistance where required coming down the stairs. He is in good physical health considering his age so he is confident coming down the stairs with a small amount of assistance.

Lunch (30 mins call) - Assisting with the toilet. Food will be prepared but as for the morning, he may need assistance eating or need to be fed.

Tea-time (30 mins call) – Assisting with the toilet. As for the two earlier calls, food will be prepared but he may need assistance eating or need to be fed.

Bed-time (30 mins call) – Assisting with going up the stairs to his bedroom and getting into bed, assisting with the toilet (his bedroom has an en-suite toilet area). Sometimes he may need assistance eating a bedtime snack or need to be fed.

Sittings (5 hours per week) – Assisting with the toilet. Food will be prepared so assistance will be required with eating. The family may ask for some additional assistance with his care – e.g. ironing his clothes. 

Domestic duties: Keeping his bedroom in the family home tidy. Ensuring the bathroom and toilet areas are left clean and tidy after his use.

Social Duties: Little to none. The family may request some additional assistance with his care from time to time.

Note: Above tasks may change from time to time.



Hours of work: 22.5 hours per week (including 5 hours sittings)
Actual hours to be confirmed at interview


Qualifications: 
Personal Care
Dementia Awareness
Punjabi

Skills & Experience: Only applicants who have experience of dealing with dementia patients will be considered. The gentleman is a native Punjabi-speaker and used to speak very good English, but his condition means he is no longer able to communicate verbally in a consistent manner. The gentleman is not on any medication, and he is very calm and not at all aggressive.

To apply for this role please send a CV or letter outlining your suitability for the role to PAvacancies@idealforall.co.uk – please quote job reference in your application.
Alternatively if you would like to discuss the role please call 0121 558 5555 option 1 and speak to a member of the Direct Payment Team.